Every day, people get behind the wheel after having one too many drinks. And every day, innocent people are injured or killed as a result of these irresponsible drivers. Drunk driving is still a huge problem in Texas, despite the strict laws against it.
Some drunk driving facts
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), 28 people are killed daily in the U.S. due to drunk driving. That’s one person every 51 minutes. Unfortunately, Texas has the highest number of drunk driving fatalities in the country, with almost 1677 deaths per year. Further, the report shows that alcohol-related motor vehicle accidents cost the U.S. $44 billion annually. These costs include property damage, medical expenses, and lost productivity.
Reasons why drunk driving is dangerous
First of all, alcohol impairs a person’s judgment and reaction time. This means that they’re more likely to make poor decisions while behind the wheel and less likely to react quickly if something unexpected happens on the road. Secondly, alcohol lowers people’s inhibitions, making them more likely to indulge in risky behavior like speeding or driving in hazardous conditions. Lastly, drunk drivers often have a false sense of confidence and believe that they are capable of driving even though they are impaired. This overconfidence can be just as dangerous as the physical effects of alcohol.
What to do as a victim of a drunk driving accident in Texas
If you or a loved one has been involved in a drunk driving accident, it’s highly advisable to get the medical help you need and take the appropriate steps to recover your losses. Therefore, the first thing that you ought to do is call the police. In fact, it is illegal not to call 911 after an accident, especially if the other driver was drunk, property damages are worth over $1000 and someone is injured. While the police in on their way, you could collect evidence of the accident scene like pictures of the damage done to your car and any visible injuries if you can because you’ll need them while filing a lawsuit or compensation claim with your insurance company.
If your claim is successful, you could receive compensation for medical expenses, property damage, lost wages, pain and suffering, and more. The other driver can also be punished with a fine, jail time, or both.